add to the travel diary
Partager sur Facebook
Partager sur Twitter
send to a friend

Chapel of the Madeleine

La Madelène - 2915 Route de Malaucène - 84410 BEDOIN
 
Présentation
Services
Informations
Carte
Book now

Chapel of the Madeleine

From April 1st to September 30th: visit to the chapel on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays from 14 to 18 hours - Outside these days and times, visit only by appointment: 06 19 73 17 96 - Guided tours Organization: Department of Tourism and Heritage C.O.V.E. at 04.90.67.69.21
Informations/Coordonnées
La Madelène - 2915 Route de Malaucène - 84410 BEDOIN

Telephone: 06 19 73 17 96

Email: chapelle.madelene.bedoin@gmail.com

From Bedoin, take the direction of Malaucene and right after a green vale, you will discover amongst pine and cypress trees, a small chapel in the midst of a private domaine. The building is listed and is a precious testimony of early Southern Roman art. 
Built in the first half of the 11th century it was completed in the 12th century with the second level of the tower. With its stocky proportions, its three semicircular apses covered with flagstone, its barrel vaults, its rough stone-setting with rounded shapes and its bell tower with geminate windows, the chapel is one of the most outstanding examples of primitive Romanesque art in Provence.

In the 19th century, the domaine belonged to a family from Carpentras, the Jules (1820-1859) and Henry de la Madelène (1827-1887) brothers. The first is the writer of 'the Marquess of Saffras', a novel describing life in the Comtat, set in Bedoin and the area. The second was a journalist and literary man who wrote novels and short stories all set in the Ventoux and Carpentras. 

'Les Amis de la chapelle de la Madelène' organize events every year to preserve and maintain the interest for this architactural and literary heritage.

MAP